CHIANTI - HISTORY AND CONTACTS

The CHIANTI project was originally set up by Dr. Ken Dere of the Naval Research Laboratory in Washington, Dr. Helen Mason of the Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics at the University of Cambridge, and Prof. Brunella Monsignori-Fossi of the Arcetri Astrophysical Observatory in Florence, Italy. Students of Prof. Monsignori-Fossi (Enrico Landi) and Dr. Mason (Peter Young) helped in the creation of the database. The sad and unexpected death of Prof. Monsignori-Fossi in January 1995, led to Prof. Massimo Landini, a close associate of Prof. Monsignori-Fossi, becoming the new CHIANTI representative in Florence.

Additional collaborations have involved Dr. Dave Pike of the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory (RAL), who has converted the CHIANTI routines to run within the environment of the CDS software, and with Dr. Barbara Bromage and her student Giulio Del Zanna of the University of Central Lancashire.

The set of data for each ion in the database is the responsibility of one of the CHIANTI consortium members. To find out which member this is it is necessary to look at the comments at the end of the data files (e.g., c_4.elvlc) where the name of the contributor is given. If any problems are encountered with data from one of the ions, the contributor should be contacted using the e-mail addresses given below. Any general queries about the database can be sent to any member of the consortium.

Ken Dere dere@halcyon.nrl.navy.mil
Enrico Landi enricol@arcetri.astro.it
Helen Mason H.E.Mason@damtp.cam.ac.uk
Peter Young P.R.Young@damtp.cam.ac.uk
Massimo Landini landini@arcetri.astro.it
Dave Pike cdp@ast.star.rl.ac.uk
Barbara Bromage b.j.i.bromage@uclan.ac.uk
Giulio Del Zanna g.del-zanna@uclan.ac.uk

If you would like to get on a mailing list to receive news about future progress with CHIANTI, send an e-mail to Ken Dere.